The 1910 Society was named in recognition of the year in which the visionary early leaders founded the Boy Scouts of America, which was patterned after the fledgling, but popular, Scouting program developed in England by Lord Baden-Powell. Those who make a gift to The 1910 Society further endow Scouting and are themselves modern-day visionaries. It is appropriate, therefore, that these visionaries be recognized as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young Americans by undergirding the financial stability of the BSA programs in the local council in the twenty-first century.

Named in honor of the year in which the Boy Scouts of America was founded, the 1910 Society recognizes endowment gifts of $25,000 or more to a local council endowment fund. To qualify for membership, these gifts must be either outright gifts or pledges that must be paid within five years of the pledge date.

Gifts may come from individuals or companies, and may be of cash, stocks, bonds, or any asset that can easily be converted to cash. Deferred gifts, and life insurance gifts with a cash surrender value of less than $25,000 will not qualify.

Donors who qualify for membership in the 1910 Society receive from the National Office a special membership certificate in a presentation folder, and a leather-bound limited edition of the original Boy Scout Handbook with their name embossed in gold on the cover. Members are also eligible to attend the Endowment Fellowship Week at Philmont Scout Ranch. In addition, they will receive a distinctive lapel pin and parchment certificate. The level of giving would be distinguished by a device on the lapel pin. The names selected for the recognition levels of The 1910 Society were drawn from those early founders.


  • ERNEST THOMPSON SETON MEMBER ($25,000 donation)

    First Chief Scout of the BSA and founder of the Woodcraft Indians. He wrote the first official American Scout Handbook-Boy Scouts of America: A Handbook of Woodcraft, Scouting, and Life-craft. Seton was a nationally recognized wildlife artist, naturalist, author, and lecturer.

  • DANIEL CARTER BEARD MEMBER ($100,000 donation)

    National Scout Commissioner and founder of the Society of the Sons of Daniel Boone. He also served as the first chairman of the National Court of Honor. Beard wrote and illustrated stories for youth in numerous magazines.

  • THEODORE ROOSEVELT MEMBER ($500,000 donation)

    Chief Scout Citizen and president of the United States of America. Colonel Roosevelt was named honorary vice president of the BSA in 1910, having already achieved a distinguished military career as commander of the famous "Rough Riders" cavalry regiment in the battle of San Juan Hill.

  • WAITE PHILLIPS MEMBER ($1,000,000 donation)
  • WAITE PHILLIPS SILVER MEMBER ($5,000,000 donation)
  • WAITE PHILLIPS GOLD MEMBER($10,000,000 donation)

    One of the Boy Scouts of America's first benefactors. In 1938, Phillips donated to the BSA a large portion of his ranch in northeastern New Mexico. The ranch was originally named Philturn Rockymountain Scoutcamp but is now called Philmont Scout Ranch. Phillips was an entrepreneur, oilman, outdoorsman, a banker, and rancher.

For more information contact:

Paul Tikalsky

P: 801-437-4468

Chief Development Officer

Utah National Parks Council, BSA

Council Login
All UtahScouts Social Pages